BEST MATTRESS 2021

Our Top Picks - Updated Yearly

I have sleep-tested over 100 mattresses in the last 4 years and picked out my favorite 10 for you. Which one will be right for you?

Before we get started, let me address some of your most frequently-asked questions. Buying a new mattress is a big deal and something you will probably only do 3 or 4 times in your life, so let’s make sure you get it right!

Now if you’re ready to just see the results of our Best Mattress 2021, go ahead and dive right in!

What Mattress Is Right For Me?

Did you know that, if you lay on your bed 8 hours each day, you spend over 121 entire days on it each year? That’s right – 2,912 hours each year, laying on your mattress. You better make it good! 

Each person has their own set of preferences when it comes to mattresses and comfort levels, and while I can’t make the decision for you, I will do my best to give you enough information to help in your buying process. 

I know that buying a mattress involves a certain level of investment… and spending $700 to $2,500+ online without having seen or touched the mattress can be scary and discouraging. 

In this Best Mattress 2021 list, I am not only telling who I think would love those mattresses, I am also including information such as at-home trials. Did you know that most online mattress companies include 100 to 365-night trials of the mattresses they sell?

Why Buy A Mattress Online?

I hear you. I am telling you that this is one of the most important purchases you will be making in the next 5 to 10 years, yet I am encouraging you to buy from a website, with no chance to see, feel, or lay on the mattress. I promise you it’s worth it, though! Feel free to read over our Guide To Buying An Online Mattress, but let’s also look at the benefits of buying a mattress online vs. in store:

More Options

When walking inside a mattress store, you are limited to the brands and models carried by the store. Not only are they limited, but the store needs to survive and higher margin products will probably take the store-front, which doesn’t always work in favor of the buyer. However, when shopping online, you will find dozens of online mattress brands.

Now of course, more options means that you need to educate yourself a little more, to understand which mattress brands will be worth your money, and this is where I come in. I test hundreds of mattresses for you each year, and when you read the reviews of an independent mattress reviewer such as Non-Biased Reviews, you get unbiased mattress reviews. Many mattress review websites are now owned by large mattress companies, so make sure you use the services of independent mattress reviewers!

Less Sale Pressure

Buying a mattress can feel as stressful as buying a car these days. You walk into the mattress store and get overwhelmed with sale tactics, straight out of the car lot! Online, you get the benefit of time and peace. Once you have narrowed your choices down to a brand or mattress style, take your time to read the details and do deeper research on the brand sites and right here. See all of the brands we have reviewed so far. Any questions, feel free to email me directly at laura@nonbiasedreviews.com and I’ll be happy to brainstorm ideas with you!

Cheaper Mattresses

By purchasing a mattress online, you are cutting the middle man. You do direct business with the mattress brands and they save on labor, rent, and other overhead costs. It is a win-win and you put the savings in your pocket! You also have many more options, and while you can buy extremely luxurious and expensive mattresses online, you also have access to a large number of cheaper options!

Longer Sleep Test

This one might seem counterintuitive. I bet that your first resistance to buying a mattress online is linked to the lack of testing. You can’t see nor touch the mattress for yourself and you’re not sure whether you can truly believe the edited photos you see online. 

Think about it for a second. You walk into a mattress store, lay on a mattress, shoes on, fully clothed, with an adult salesperson staring at you, while trying to keep your kids from taking the store for a trampoline arena. You’ve awkwardly laid on that mattress a total of 50 seconds before making a long-term decision… 

When purchasing your mattress online, it nearly always comes with a 100 to 365-night trial. You get to sleep full nights on your investment for several weeks before deciding whether it is adapted to your sleeping needs and preferences. I recommend sleep testing your mattress for at least 30 nights before making your final decision, to give your body a chance to adjust to the new sleeping surface.

Still unhappy, most online mattress companies will arrange for your mattress to be picked up from your home and donated, and your money will be refunded. There is generally no restocking fee and most of the time, your return shipping is free as well. If you buy a Purple mattress at MattressFirm, for example, your return will be subject to MattressFirm’s return policy and restocking fees. Buy directly from Purple and your return is free!

Hassle-Free Hauling

When you buy a mattress online, it ships directly to your home, most of the time for free! Nearly all mattresses ship in a box, making them easy to transport to the room of your choice. 

Forget about renting a truck or trying to tie a king-size mattress to the roof of your car, then asking a friend to come help you to get it inside. Instead, a regular carrier drops off a manageable box by your front door, you set the vacuumed mattress on your bed, rip the plastic wrap, and watch it expand in seconds!

How Long Should I Test A Mattress For?

Several online mattress companies have return policies in place that do not let you return your mattress until the 31st night. They want you to give it a month before deciding whether or not it is a good fit. That makes total sense and I agree with it.

You are asking your body to adapt to a new sleeping surface and it will need at least 3 weeks to get used to it. New muscles are activated, others are more relaxed, your position will shift and this is a major change for your body. Soreness can happen during those first few nights. Remember that you spend 1/3 of your day laying on the mattress. That’s a lot of time in a new position, especially if you switch from a foam to a hybrid mattress, or vice-versa. 

Sleep on your mattress 3 or 4 weeks before returning it. By that time, you will have a good idea of whether or not it works for you!

Ready For The Best Mattress 2021 Reveal?

Price List updated: January 2021 – pre-discounted prices

Click on the Best Mattress category for more info on each mattress and 2 runner-ups in each category for other good options!

Best Mattress 2021 - Top Editor's Picks

Before we get into the detail of each Best Mattress category, I wanted to give a special shoutout to my Top 3 picks for 2021. Here’s what is important to me, in a mattress. I am looking for cozy comfort with excellent spinal support. I move a lot at night and can sleep on my stomach, back, and side at any given moment. My top mattresses are:

  • responsive enough to allow me to move freely
  • perform excellent on the motion transfer test, because believe or not, my husband moves even harder than I do
  • provide us with deep pressure relief and a lower layer of support for healthy spine alignment
  • come with a fair amount of proprietary technologies from companies who invest in R&D to solve pain points

 

You will find more details on each one of them below, but here’s what my Unbiased Best Mattress 2021 podium looks like: 

Without further ado, here is all of the detail for Best Mattress 2021 in each of the categories. You will find 2 runner-ups in each category, so you can compare and find yourself the best mattress to fit your own preferences! Happy sleeping, guys!

Best Mattress Under $1,000 2021

Tuft & Needle Mint

Save Up To $175
Tuft and Needle Coupon
Tuft & Needle Mint Mattress
HOLIDAY SALE - Spend More, Save More: spend $150, get $25 OFF / spend $650, get $100 OFF / spend $1,050, get $175 OFF. Sale ends 12/27.The mint is...Show More
HOLIDAY SALE - Spend More, Save More: spend $150, get $25 OFF / spend $650, get $100 OFF / spend $1,050, get $175 OFF. Sale ends 12/27.The mint is Tuft & Needle's premium offer. Utilizing 3 layers and an extra 2" of height, when compared to the original.Show Less

When shopping for a mattress under $1,000 (in Queen size), you obviously get fewer options, but you can score an amazing mattress from an online company who cuts down the costs and passes the savings on to you. There are several really good mattresses out there under the thousand dollar mark, and we have narrowed it down to three that are some of the most comfortable mattresses we have tested. 

Our Best Mattress Under $1,000 2021 is the Tuft & Needle Mint Mattress, an upgrade from the original Tuft & Needle mattress.

What we loved:

  • 12 inches of foam
  • Enhanced Tuft & Needle adaptive foam, which provides excellent deep pressure relief and overall softness
  • Center layer infused with gel beads for cushion-like support and a cool feel
  • Base layer providing strong spinal support
  • Mattress cover with extra graphite to maximize the cooling factor
  • Open-cell foam technology designed to allow air to flow freely through the mattress, increasing breathability and your comfort throughout the night

For under $1,000, you get a lot of luxurious comfort and features: cool sleep, responsiveness, anti-microbial properties, cushioned support.

Tuft & Needle Sleep Trial – 100 nights

Shipping – FREE in the continental USA, for a fee in Hawaii and Alaska

Warranty – 10-year limited

Our Runner-Ups In The Best Mattress Under $1,000 2021

Best Mattress Under $1,000
  1. Tuft & Needle Mint
  2. Brooklyn Bedding Aurora (winner of Best Mattress For Hot-Sleepers – Non-Powered)
  3. OkiOki (OkiFirm winner of Best Mattress For Stomach-Sleepers)
  4. DreamCloud Mattress: technically not under $1,000 pre-discount, but it is nearly always discounted under $1,000 and our Best Hybrid Mattress. Always use DreamCloud coupon code NONBIASED for access to the deepest discount available

Best Mattress For Hot Sleepers 2021 - Powered

Eight Sleep Pod Pro

$300 OFF all Pods and more! +$100 OFF Exclusive Coupon Code!
Eight Sleep Pod Review
Eight Sleep
$300 OFF all Pods.Extra $100 OFF with coupon code.$100 OFF the Pod Pro Cover.20% OFF cooling accessories with Pod or Pod Pro Cover purchase...Show More
$300 OFF all Pods.Extra $100 OFF with coupon code.$100 OFF the Pod Pro Cover.20% OFF cooling accessories with Pod or Pod Pro Cover purchase.Cool your bed to 55F or heat it up to 115F Show Less

The industry has been moving more and more towards accommodating hot sleepers for cooler nights of sleep. Regulating our body temperature to the right level is the first step to falling asleep faster and deeper. We have seen cooling devices, cooling blankets, and other gadgets effectively help control the body heat. Most of the cooling devices act as heating devices for cold nights as well. 

This one is no different and our Best Mattress For Hots Sleepers 2021 is the Eight Sleep Pod Pro. It is a cooling and heating mattress that will automate its temperature between 55 and 110 degrees. It is a dual-zone so each partner can customize the temperature for their side of the bed. The mattress is connected to a tracking app that records health reports such as respiration and heart rates, as well as sleep reports, such as time slept, deep sleep, and REM. 

What We Loved:

  • 12 inches of foam
  • Health and sleep tracking through the app
  • Dual-zone for customized  sleeping experience
  • Gentle wake up mode
  • Real-time system reaction to body temperature, room temperature, and local weather
  • Medium firmness that fits most sleepers
  • Low motion transfer

Eight Sleep Sleep Trial – 100 nights

Shipping – FREE shipping in the continental USA and Canada

Warranty – 2-year limited

Our Runner-Ups In The Best Mattress For Hot Sleepers 2021 (Powered)

Best Mattress For Hot Sleepers - Powered

Eight Sleep is the only mattress company to produce such a smart mattress with cooling and heating mattress. We can’t compare the Eight Sleep Pod Pro to any other mattresses, but the other 2 Eight Sleep’s:

  1. Eight Sleep Pod Pro 
  2. Eight Sleep Pod – The Pod Pro’s older brother, boasting 11 inches of mattress and lacking the room climate and weather response
  3. Eight Sleep Pod Pro Max – the newest Eight Sleep mattress, similar to the Pod Pro but including a Max Chill layer infused with silver, graphite and copper for maximum heat dissipation

2021 Best Mattress For Hot Sleepers 2021 - Non-Powered

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora

25% OFF Site Wide
Brooklyn Aurora Hybrid Brooklyn Bedding
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora
25% OFF Site Wide and 50% OFF Sheets with Promo Code. Military gets 30% OFF until 11/18/20! Code NONBIASED20 gets you 20% OFF the rest of the year!
25% OFF Site Wide and 50% OFF Sheets with Promo Code. Military gets 30% OFF until 11/18/20! Code NONBIASED20 gets you 20% OFF the rest of the year! Show Less

If you are a hot sleeper and looking for a mattress that will keep you cool at night without spending over $2,000 and without wanting to plug into power, the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora is a wonderful option and our Best Mattress For Hot Sleepers Non-Powered 2021!

It uses TitanCool™, a proprietary technology that adjusts to your body’s temperature in real time, for as long as you are laying on the mattress. Within seconds, the beads infused in that layer will liquify upon contact with your warm skin. They harden back up, should your skin temperature drop. Their aim is to keep your skin temperature at the ideal 88-degree temperature it needs to sleep comfortably.

What We Loved:

  • Choose from 3 firmness levels
  • Deep pressure relief from 4.5 inches of memory foam
  • Engineered top layers to keep you cool with a copper-infused top layer of foam and a cooling fabric cover
  • TitanCool™ layer, infused with cooling gel beads that adjust to your body’s temperature in real-time
  • No use of a power source
  • Made in the USA

Brooklyn Bedding Sleep Trial – 120 nights

Shipping – FREE shipping in the continental USA, $125 to Hawaii and Alaska, $250 to Canada

Warranty – 10-year

Our Runner-Ups In The Best Mattress For Hot Sleepers 2021 (Powered)

Best Mattress For Hot Sleepers (Non-Powered)
  1. Brooklyn Bedding Aurora
  2. GhostBed Luxe (winner of Best Mattress For Neck & Back Pain) – uses its own proprietary GhostIce layer that is heat-sensing and auto-adjusts to your body’s heat to deliver the optimal sleeping temperature
  3. Gravity Ice Hybrid – uses a cooling gel foam layer, as well the coldest mattress cover we’ve ever tested, for a cold sensation on contact. Use Gravity coupon code NONBIASED for 10% OFF

Best Mattress For Side Sleepers 2021

Nolah Evolution 15

Up to $800 OFF + 2 FREE Pillow (+$50 OFF purchases $800+ with code)
Nolah Evolution 15 Review
Nolah Evolution 15"
Black Friday Early Access Sale: up to $800 OFF the Evolution Hybrid + 2 FREE Pillow + an extra $50 OFF your purchase above $800 with our exclusive...Show More
Black Friday Early Access Sale: up to $800 OFF the Evolution Hybrid + 2 FREE Pillow + an extra $50 OFF your purchase above $800 with our exclusive coupon code! Show Less

Did you know that over 70% of Americans sleep on their sides?  If this is you, you are probably aware that too firm of a mattress will create pain in your shoulders and hips, and potentially all the way up to your neck. You need a mattress with softer upper layers to allow for a gentle sink to release those high pressure points, with firmer layers underneath for support and spinal alignment.

Our Best Mattress For Side Sleepers 2021 goes to the Nolah Evolution 15. This is Nolah’s third and only hybrid mattress, launched in late 2020. It is an amazing mattress for side-sleepers, providing deep pressure relief with great pressure point and spinal support thanks to the pocketed coils. If you are a side sleeper who turns onto your back (combo sleeper), the Nolah Evolution 15 is an amazing mattress for you as well!

What We Loved:

  • 15 inches of luxury
  • Pocketed coils that absorb most of the motion transfer, making the Nolah Evolution a great mattress for couples
  • Sleeps incredibly cool thanks to an engineered foam that maintains a cool temperature
  • AirBreath™ Heat Escape Gusset allows your body heat to escape down and outward through the foam layers
  • Graphite-infused Nolah AirFoam™ with accelerated cooling properties
  • Made in the USA

Nolah Sleep Trial – 120 nights

Shipping – FREE shipping

Warranty – Lifetime

Our Runner-Ups In The Best Mattress For Side Sleepers 2021

2021 Best Mattress for Side Sleepers
  1. Nolah Evolution 15 – use Nolah coupon code NONBIASED50 for $50 OFF your purchase of $800+. Also 2021 Best Mattress Overall!
  2. GhostBed Flex – medium-firm hybrid mattress, providing cool sleep and deep pressure point relief, and ideal if sleeping with a partner
  3. The Purple Mattress – lots of pressure point relief. If you carry a little heavier weight, look into the Purple Hybrid mattress

Best Mattress For Back Sleepers 2021

Leesa Hybrid

Up to $350 OFF (or 15% OFF with code NONBIASED)
leesa hybrid close up
Leesa Hybrid
Treat yourself to a luxury experience from a company that donates 1 mattress for every 10 that they sell. Up to $350 off the Leesa Hybrid Mattress...Show More
Treat yourself to a luxury experience from a company that donates 1 mattress for every 10 that they sell. Up to $350 off the Leesa Hybrid Mattress through Christmas Day or 15% OFF with code NONBIASED$75-$150 OFF the Original Leesa /$100-$250 OFF the Hybrid /$200-$350 OFF the Legend$100 OFF Leesa Studio(or 15% OFF with code NONBIASED) Show Less

If you’re a back sleeper, you know that feeling of your hips sinking in deep and waking up with lower back pain… What you need is a little sink around the hip and shoulder areas, with added support a few inches below that, to ensure body leveling. 

Our Best Mattress For Back Sleepers 2021 is the Leesa Hybrid for the second year in a row. Leesa’s luxury hybrid mattress, will shock you with its quality from the moment you receive it.  It incorporates many of the great features of the Leesa mattress and then adds pocketed coils to provide increased stability. If you are on the heavier side, you will find enough support and comfort to sleep on your back

What We Loved:

  • Support and durability of the coils
  • High-quality foams for just the right hug and bounce
  • Very supportive, yet soft and comfortable mattress overall
  • Beautiful cover, so soft you’ll want to sleep right on it
  • Pressure relief on all joints thanks for the coils aligning the entire body

Leesa Sleep Trial – 100 nights

Shipping – FREE shipping

Warranty – 10 years

Our Runner-Ups In The Best Mattress For Back Sleepers 2021

2021 Best Mattress For Back Sleepers
  1. Leesa Hybrid – use Leesa coupon code NONBIASED for 15% OFF 
  2. Zenhaven – a more expensive option but all latex, durable, and breathable for cooler nights of sleep
  3. Bear Hybrid – High pressure relief, easy to move around and great support down the entire body

Best Mattress For Stomach Sleepers 2021

OkiFirm

15% OFF Site Wide
OkiOki mattress reviews
OkiFirm Mattress
15% OFF Site Wide with promo code
15% OFF Site Wide with promo code Show Less

Stomach sleepers have very specific needs. I am one, and understand what that sleeping position requires. Stomach sleepers need the firmest sleeping surface of all three types of sleepers. Your hips and shoulders need more support and you will want a sensation of floating over the mattress, rather than sinking in. 

Our Best Mattress For Stomach Sleepers 2021 goes to the OkiFirm by OkiOki. It is an incredible product for the price and brings all of the comfort you need for a good night of sleep on your stomach. The Queen-size bed is priced at $550 before discounts and you get an entire year to sleep test it at home!! The OkiFirm is an all-foam mattress with some of the densest foam for ultimate support, while giving you a little bit of plushness for ultimate comfort.

What We Loved:

  • Amazing value
  • Graphite foam provides just the right amount of cushion
  • Air holes in the foam for ultimate breathability 
  • 7 inches of high density foam distributes the body weight and aligns the spine
  • No frills – exactly what you need for great comfort on your stomach (good mattress for back sleepers too), nothing more, no hidden costs!

OkiOki Sleep Trial – 365 nights

Shipping – FREE shipping

Warranty – 10 years

Our Runner-Ups In The Best Mattress For Stomach Sleepers 2021

2021 Best mattress For Stomach Sleepers
  1. OkiFirm 
  2. GhostBed Classic – aerated latex with a cooling gel memory foam that keeps you temperature-neutral at night
  3. Nolah Signature 12 – flip this flippable mattress to its firm side for a cool night of sleep on your stomach, and use Nolah coupon code NONBIASED50 for $50 OFF your purchase of $800+.

Best Mattress For Neck & Back Pain 2021

GhostBed Luxe

30% OFF Site Wide
GhostBed Luxe reviews
GhostBed Luxe
Our #1 pick for 2021 Best Mattress For Neck And Back Pain
Our #1 pick for 2021 Best Mattress For Neck And Back Pain Show Less

Getting a quality night of sleep is no small feat when you suffer from neck and back pain. A good mattress can be all of the difference between rested nights and hard days following long sleepless nights of tossing in pain. 

Our Best Mattress For Neck And Back Pain 2021 is the GhostBed Luxe. And honestly, it was this close to being our top pick for Best Mattress For Hot Sleepers (non-powered)!!

With 13 inches and 7 layers of foam, this mattress is engineered to keep you cool and to relieve the pressure around your joints. It has that cloud-like feeling with just the right amount of contouring and a slight responsive sink. The gel memory foam relieves your pressure points and alleviates back pain, while a proprietary technology adjusts the heat of the mattress to your body temperature in real time.

What We Loved:

  • Amazing pressure point relief without the sagging or getting-stuck
  • Incredible patent-pending technology to keep your body at an ideal temperature for sleep
  • Very low motion transfer – great when sleeping with someone
  • Great mattress for side and back sleepers 
  • Made in the USA

GhostBed Sleep Trial – 101 nights

Shipping – FREE shipping

Warranty – 25 years

Our Runner-Ups In The Best Mattress For Neck And Back Pain 2021

2021 Best Mattress for neck and back pain
  1. GhostBed Luxe (runner-up in 2021 Best Mattress For Hot Sleepers Non-Powered)
  2. Nolah Evolution 15 (winner of 2021 Best Mattress For Side Sleepers) – use Nolah coupon code NONBIASED50 for $50 OFF your purchase of $800+
  3. Saatva Classic (winner of Best Luxury Mattress) – with a patented spinal technology to align your spine and relieve the pressure on your lower back and awarded a seal of approval by the Congress of Chiropractic State Associations

Best Luxury Mattress 2021

Saatva Classic

$200 OFF
Saatva mattress review
Saatva Classic
$200 OFF your purchase of $1,000+
$200 OFF your purchase of $1,000+ Show Less

Buying a mattress online doesn’t mean that you are giving up on luxury. You will find online mattresses selling as high as $10,000, with luxurious pillow tops, white-glove delivery and setup services. 

Our Best Luxury Mattress 2021 is the Saatva Classic. It comes in 3 firmness variants with its Luxury Firm model being the closest feeling to luxury hotels. The Saatva Classic is the original Saatva mattress and priced under $1,400 before discounts. It comes with the free white glove delivery and setup for that added touch of luxury. It is the only mattress not shipped in a box on our 2021 Top Mattress list. It is delivered to your room of choice and they’ll even take away your old mattress for free.

What We Loved:

  • Luxury service
  • 3-inch plush Euro pillow top with ultra-comfortable contouring, plushness, and pressure relieving in your joints
  • Proprietary spinal zone technology in the center area, to keep your spine aligned and relieve the pressure in your lower back
  • Reinforced edge support for a wider sleeping area
  • CertiPUR-US certified foam
  • GOTS certified organic cotton outer cover
  • Made in the USA

Saatva Sleep Trial – 180 nights (return carries a $99 fee)

Shipping – FREE white-glove delivery, set, and old mattress removal

Warranty – 15 years

Our Runner-Ups In The Best Luxury Mattress 2021

2021 Best Luxury Mattress
  1. Saatva Classic
  2. Eight Sleep Pod Pro (our Best Mattress For Hot Sleepers Powered) – for an incredible customizable temperature sleep experience. Because no one else makes a mattress like Eight Sleep
  3. Puffy Lux – a Canadian luxury with a special technology that allows your body’s pressure points to be released as the foam layers adapt to your body shape

Best Hybrid Mattress 2021

The DreamCloud Mattress

$399 of FREE Accessories
DreamCloud mattress review
Dreamcloud Sleep
Receive a FREE Mattress Protector, Sheets, and Pillows - valued at $399
Receive a FREE Mattress Protector, Sheets, and Pillows - valued at $399 Show Less

Hybrid mattresses is where the industry is headed. More and more brands who used to offer memory foam mattresses, are adding new hybrid models. A hybrid mattress is a mattress with a combination of foam layers and coils. A good hybrid mattress will have individually-pocketed (or individually-wrapped) coils, limiting the motion transfer by isolating each partner’s movements. Hybrid mattresses typically sleep cooler thanks to the air flowing through the coils, provide more spinal support, and have a little more bounce, making it easier to change positions during the night.

Our Best Hybrid Mattress 2021 is the DreamCloud Mattress. Not only is it incredibly comfortable, it comes at a price that does not break the bank. You will love how it holds up over the years and the soft hug it gives you night after night.

What We Loved:

  • Cashmere top
  • Gel memory foam cradling the pressure point areas
  • Medium firmness that will work with side sleepers, back sleepers, and some lower-weight stomach sleepers. Great for couples with different sleeping styles
  • Nearly no motion transfer
  • Gel memory foam prevents overheating during the night
  • Transition layer with bounce so you never feel stuck in the mattress
  • 1-year home trial period

DreamCloud Sleep Trial – 365 nights 

Shipping – FREE shipping

Warranty – 10 years (beyond that, DreamCloud will completely repair and re-cover your DreamCloud, or replace it)

Our Runner-Ups In The Best Hybrid Mattress 2021

2021 Best Hybrid Mattress
  1. The DreamCloud Mattress – always use DreamCloud coupon code NONBIASED for the deepest discount available
  2. GhostBed 3D Matrix – I just fell in love with this polymer hybrid mattress for its uniqueness, even body weight distribution, and support – a must try!!
  3. Nolah Evolution 15 – I know I’m repeating myself, but there’s a reason why it is my top pick for Best Mattress 2021 Overall! Use Nolah coupon code NONBIASED50 for $50 OFF your purchase of $800+

Best Foam Mattress 2021

Nectar Lush

$100 OFF
front of nectar lush mattress
Nectar Lush
$100 OFF
$100 OFF Show Less

All-foam mattresses are not going out of style anytime soon. If you have been sleeping on a foam mattress for some years, you might even find the transition to a hybrid to be difficult and take some time getting used to. Foam mattresses have a special feeling – a whole presence in your room. You love the support you get, that cradling sink, the hug you long after a tiring day. But they built a reputation for sleeping hot over the years. Well, companies are investing in R&D to ensure that the foam mattress lovers get all of the cool rest they deserve, and they’re doing a pretty darn good job at it!

Our Best Foam Mattress 2021 is the Nectar Lush. It has been around for a few years and made our 2020 Best Mattress list last year. It is one of the best-selling mattresses online and boasts a cooling top layer that is ultra-soft, yet supportive. You will not get hot on this mattress, I promise you. Its cover is cooling, and the first layer of memory foam is infused with cooling gel. If you like foam mattresses like I do, this is 12 inches of premium foam that will give you great pressure point relief and help you with back and joint pain. 

What We Loved:

  • Temperature-neutral sleep thanks to the cooling technologies throughout the mattress
  • Cozy cradle with amazing full-body support
  • Feeling of floating on top of the foam, and never getting stuck in it
  • 1-year at-home sleep trial!

Nectar Sleep Trial – 365 nights 

Shipping – FREE shipping

Warranty – Forever

Our Runner-Ups In The Best Foam Mattress 2021

2021 Best Foam Mattress
  1. Nectar Lush – always use DreamCloud coupon code NONBIASED for the deepest discount available
  2. GhostBed Flex – Amazing for cool sleep and for couples who have different sleeping styles
  3. Nolah Signature 12 – flippable mattress with a soft and a firm side so you never have to buy another mattress. Use Nolah coupon code NONBIASED50 for $50 OFF your purchase of $800+

Best Mattress 2021

I hope you found this information helpful! We have tested over 100 mattresses over the years and I am very passionate about helping you find the right mattress for your needs. As you can tell, some mattresses hit my Top Picks in several categories. Those are the mattresses which, after testing, I have decided to keep inside our home. They are versatile and solve pain points that most of us encounter – hot sleep, back pain, joint pain, etc.

While I can’t tell you exactly which mattress will be best for your personal situation, this guide should help you narrow down your options. And remember, the sleep trials allow you to give your chosen mattress a long try at home before deciding whether it is made for you or not!

Share this deal with a friend!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp
Laura Georgieff

Laura Georgieff

Laura is a mother of three who did not sleep through the night for the first 5.5 years of her kids' lives. She is passionate about sleep quality and loves sharing her experience and knowledge of all thing bedding! It is her mission to help you make the best decisions when it comes to sleep and help you get the best deal on the market!

A little more information from my predecessor...

Top Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Stomach sleeping is said to be the worst sleep position for your health. However, if that’s the way you sleep we can still help to point you in the right direction. Stomach sleeping position is the least common of them all. Personally, it’s not my thing, and if I try to sleep on my stomach it is always uncomfortable. Stomach sleepers need a specific mid-range comfort to ensure healthy, restful sleep. Which mattresses offer the perfect alignment in such a non-ordinary position?

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

I’m a side sleeper, so this category is my specialty. I try to avoid mattresses that are too squishy or too firm. As a petite person I will end up with lower back pain, sometimes hip pain. My go to type of mattress is medium-soft, with a good deal of hug and pressure relief. When you sleep on your side you don’t want to sink in too much, but some give in the mattress is necessary.

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

I’m a side sleeper, so this category is my specialty. I try to avoid mattresses that are too squishy or too firm. As a petite person I will end up with lower back pain, sometimes hip pain. My go to type of mattress is medium-soft, with a good deal of hug and pressure relief. When you sleep on your side you don’t want to sink in too much, but some give in the mattress is necessary.

My Top Picks for Back Sleepers

Back sleeping is considered the healthiest way to sleep; however, very few of us sleep this way. Back sleepers need that goldilocks feel, it can’t be too soft, or they will sink in too much. They will also find themselves in an uncomfortable situation if the mattress is too firm. Back sleepers are searching for a medium firmness level, with above average cooling tech in the mattress.
A back sleeper is “using” more surface area of the mattress, so they have a potential to heat up; therefore, all of my picks for this category have cooling tech in them. Another issue that Back Sleepers commonly face is SNORING. I have suffered many sleepless nights due to my husband’s snoring, that is until recently. Do you want to know what has cured his snoring? Of course, you do, you may even be suffering from the same situation. Hurry up RANA!
My adjustable bed’s anti snore position! Seriously, I hear a snore, I wake up grab the remote and with one touch the bed’s head position raises a few inches and the problem is solved.
Our survey results show that only 4% of our audience sleeps strictly on their backs.

Top Mattress for Combo Sleepers

I’m a side sleeper, however, when I tested these 2 mattresses I always woke up on my back.  My top picks for best combo sleeping mattresses are:

Brooklyn Bedding’s Aurora

Layla, which can also be flipped if you want a more firm mattress

What About Big & Tall People?

I get questions from people that are much larger than I am, so I decided to reach out to a friend of mine who fits into both sides of the BIG & TALL category. My friend weighs in at over 350 lbs, and at a height of 6’7”. He has been helping me test the mattresses that are marketed and manufactured for the larger folks out there. After going through over a dozen mattresses he has settled on the DreamCloud:

Top Budget Mattress

If you are on a tight budget you will struggle to find a high quality mattress for under $750 if you choose to walk into a mattress or furniture store.  Fortunately, with the rize of the bed-in-a-box model you can find some great deals under $750.  My top pick for a budget mattress is:

Nectar Mattress

I can get just about any mattress I want for free.  Yet, I chose to purchase this mattress, just to see if I could squeeze it onto a sailboat. That should give you a pretty large hint as to how much of a value I believe that the Nectar is. At the queen size it is $699 and it comes with 2 pillows so this is easily the best combination of quality and price that I have found.  2 other budget or value options are the Tuft & Needle and the New Allswell Hybrid mattress.

Latex Mattresses

My top 2 picks for best Latex mattress are: the ZenhavenBloom. Latex is a much more breathable substance than memory foam. That helps keep it cooler in the summer, which for me is an incredibly important as I live in Arizona. There are two competing ways of making latex, they are:
• Dunlop
• Talalay
Talalay is considered the more refined & better process. The molded pieces of latex foam are vacuumed of air and then frozen. The resulting talalay latex product is much bouncier than that of a Dunlop process. If you are looking for a bed that is springier then talalay will be your choice.
In addition to the two manufacturing methods there are many ways that the foam can be constructed from synthetic to 100% natural. The closer you get to 100% natural the fewer additives will be found in the mattress. You can expect to pay more for anything approaching 100% natural talalay latex.
Latex mattresses will last much longer than foam or coil mattresses. Some latex mattresses are designed to last up to 30 years if properly cared for.

Best Cooling Bed

Brooklyn Bedding’s Aurora has a stretchy mattress cover that is cool to the touch, but the best cooling tech that I have tested comes from hyper-elastic polymer (the egg catching layers found in the original purple and the New Purple Hybrid).
If those three mattresses still can’t cool you, I have a couple of other things you could try. First, Nest Bedding has a cooling mattress protector that you could add to any mattress. The second option is a bit more expensive, but it has the ability to keep you so cold that I can’t even use the coldest setting. I’m talking about the Chilipad mattress topper, which has a cold setting that goes all the way down to 55 degrees.

Mattress for Back Pain

I was in a major car accident in 2002, every day I am reminded how lucky I am to have survived by the pain that I encounter. Each day it is difficult to escape from bed, and I truly know the difference between sleeping on a good bed and a bad bed, by how my body reacts in the morning. I know back pain and a few mattresses that I have tested find a way to completely block out that pain for me. My go to mattress, when I’m not testing one, is the Purple Mattress. My second and third picks for making sure that my back isn’t sore are my Layla (on the soft side) and my Leesa.

My Partner Snores, HELP ME!

You can try sleep masks, or mouthguards, and they may provide you with relief from snoring at an affordable price. However, there are two simple ways to combat snoring. One is to upgrade your pillow to something thicker. This will allow you to get a better angle to increase your flow of oxygen while you sleep. The best cure to snoring is the one that worked wonders for my family. An adjustable bed frame will tilt up the head section of the bed just enough to keep your partner from snoring.

Our Rating Criteria

If I spend 2 weeks sleeping on a mattress that consistently gives me back pain, you will read about it on my review! Nothing that made this list of best mattresses gave me any comfort issues. I’m hoping that you will have a similar experience.

Packaging/Shipping

First Impressions count right? Some of the mattresses come in boxes, and some come in over-sized bags. I prefer boxes as they are much easier to move around. However, the ones that ship in bags can fit in tight spaces.

Smell

About first impressions, some of the mattresses will have a bit of an odor when they are unboxed. Most people use the term off-gassing to describe it. Some of the mattresses take a few days for the smell to go away and sometimes it is barely noticeable.

Comfort

When you lay on a mattress and it’s not comfortable that’s surely something that we should point out right? If I’m having trouble sleeping on a bed, I’ll tell you that. If I can’t sleep on a mattress I will scream to high heaven that you need to steer clear of a mattress if you have a similar sleep profile as I do (petite side sleeper). Remember, just because it doesn’t work for me doesn’t mean that it won’t work for you.
This is a key category to focus on when you are going through my various reviews. The more mattress that I sleep test the larger my comparison database gets. If you ask me about 2 mattresses that I have tested, I can instantly tell you which one was more comfortable to me.

Support

I have had a ton of mattresses which fail to give me the proper support. There is nothing worse than falling into a deep depression that you have to climb out of. Sometimes you can even get multiple sinking parts and huge mountains in between, clearly not ideal for restful sleep. I test for support with:

  • weights
  • sitting on the edges and corners
  • jumping/standing/walking on the mattress

If I fall all the way through the mattress to the ground, it won’t score very high. Conversely, if I hardly notice any sinking in the mattress it will get a high score.

Adjustable Base Tests

Have you ever walked into a mattress retailer? Of course, you have! Did you notice that almost every mattress is now on an adjustable base? This is the wave of the future, I know that I will never sleep on a bed frame that isn’t adjustable. It’s hard to explain, but once you try one you won’t go back. I even credit my adjustable frame with curing my husband’s snoring with just a click of the anti-snore button on my remote.
If you haven’t been on an adjustable frame you are really missing out, so we feel that it is crucial to our review process to add this wrinkle. We understand that everyone doesn’t have an adjustable bed, but if you are considering one with your next mattress purchase, we feel you should be prepared. If a mattress is too thick or sturdy, it may not perform well on an adjustable base. If it has interlocked coils, forget about it. Thick cover that bunches up? Move along.

Company

With the hundreds of new brands that have popped up over the last few years it is difficult to sort through them. I’m putting in the leg work to figure out which companies are connected to each other. In doing so, I can help determine the expected longevity of each of these mattress companies. If I don’t think a mattress company is going to make it in the long term, then I won’t expect their warranty to hold up. A company my promote a forever warranty, but if it closes down in six months you surely won’t be able to get your bed replaced.

  • I use Fakespot to see if companies are planting fake reviews. You will be amazed by some of the results some of these online retailers get on fakespot.
  • Community outreach by the company: I love companies that give back to their communities. 
  • Customer support: If a company has poor communication or support, you will read about it here or hear about it on my video reviews.
  • Warranty: the companies in our top categories all score highly in the warranty field. If we don’t think a company will be around to honor their warranty they won’t be included on our list.
  • Shipping times: I’ll occasionally purchase a mattress without telling anyone at the company to see how quickly they can ship to me.

Motion Isolation

We have all seen the mattress commercials where someone is standing on a bed near a glass of wine. I’ll sometimes shoot the same test live and if it doesn’t move when I walk near it, it will score high on this test. A high number is great for when you have a partner who is tossing and turning and not disturbing you. On our scale from 1-10, one is a waterbed, 10 is “Wait what? There is someone in my bed?”

Sleep Quality

If I’m not able to sleep on a mattress, then it’s possible that you may have the same issues. This is really the most important category that a buyer should be focused on. Unfortunately, if you can’t sleep on it, you are going to find yourself shopping for a new bed sooner than planned.

Stays Cool

I live in Scottsdale; Arizona and I’ll tell you a little secret about the weather here… It gets hot in the summer. Having a breathable mattress is a must for me.

Materials/Durability

Surely what’s inside the mattress matters right? I also pay close attention to the covers. Size matters; the Casper Essential is 8.5″ while the DreamCloud is a full 15″. Almost double the thickness of the mattress, but is it double the price as well (no)? We look at the density of the foam layers as well as the quality of the coils and materials in the cover.

Value

You really must look at the prices of the mattress vs. the competition. Not just the direct to consumer, bed in a box model, but the in-store values as well. The bed in a box model offers consumers huge cost savings vs. buying from the store. This is because the middle man is cut out and the companies don’t have to pay electricity and rent.

How Often do you need a new Mattress?

How long should a mattress last? Do they really double in weight after 10 years of collecting your skin cells? I have a feeling that these two questions are linked. If you can get a foam mattress to last more than 7-10 years then you are doing great. Don’t expect to get more than 10 years out of a mattress unless it is made with latex, which you could get you up to 15 years of comfortable sleep.

46 Comments

  1. Chris November 26, 2018
    • Non-Biased November 26, 2018
  2. Earl October 5, 2018
    • Non-Biased October 9, 2018
  3. Hilary September 27, 2018
    • Non-Biased September 27, 2018
  4. Sandy Hyde September 16, 2018
    • Non-Biased September 17, 2018
  5. Ellen Cox September 16, 2018
    • Non-Biased September 17, 2018
  6. Jeff September 10, 2018
  7. Bruce Steward September 7, 2018
    • Non-Biased September 7, 2018
  8. Chris September 3, 2018
    • Non-Biased September 3, 2018
  9. Dottie September 2, 2018
    • Non-Biased September 3, 2018
  10. Non-Biased August 25, 2018
    • Keith August 31, 2018
      • Non-Biased September 3, 2018
  11. Joe June 12, 2018
    • Non-Biased June 12, 2018
      • Joe June 13, 2018
        • Non-Biased June 13, 2018
  12. Joe June 12, 2018
  13. Rena Walter June 6, 2018
    • Non-Biased June 7, 2018
  14. Monica May 25, 2018
  15. Allison May 15, 2018
  16. Naota May 14, 2018
    • Non-Biased May 15, 2018
  17. Barbara May 5, 2018
  18. Jennifer Phillips May 5, 2018
    • Non-Biased May 5, 2018
  19. Kim JooAe April 29, 2018
    • Non-Biased April 30, 2018
  20. Laurie Arnheim April 26, 2018
  21. Rachel Beltz April 25, 2018
  22. pediptonthego February 3, 2018
    • Non-Biased February 3, 2018

Leave a Reply